Christmas Time in Basel and Lugano

Please, please, please don’t hate me for not writing all the time. This is a terribly long amount of time that I haven’t written, and I’m sorry. While I was in Paris–which I promise I will write about soon–I tried to update everything, but the internet was absolutely terrible.

Christmas time, if you want to remember that far back, is such a magical time in Europe. Lugano, for example, wraps lights around the trees on the pathway by the lake, sets up a giant Christmas tree in the main square of downtown, and constructs an ice rink which is free to skate on. (Of course, you pay 5CHF to rent the skates.)

DSC07419

DSC07421

DSC07425

DSC07429

DSC07432

DSC07438

DSC07474One of our last night there, a group of us went downtown to ice-skate. Mind you, this is the first time, I believe, that I have ever ice skated. I’m proud to announce that I did not fall.

148208_10200176040352889_1599110967_n

The best adventure of the season was our trip to Basel for the Christmas Market. It is the largest Christmas market in Switzerland, and one of the best in Europe, though I haven’t been to any others to compare. Chestnuts roast on the open fire. Jack Frost nips at your nose. The smell of meat and mulled wine fills the air. People hustle and bustle to find the best presents, and the fire crackles.

For this market, you pay for your first mug of  Glühwein (mulled wine), and you keep your mug. After that, the price of the drink goes down as you refill. Our dorm paid for our train tickets, and Liz came with me while Jodi went to Venice with her class.

058

060

067

068

070

072

075

076

078

above is a spinning bar
092

103

109

111

115

118

119

121

124

126

130

137

159

163

165

169

171

172

177

183At this point in the story, we booked it back to the train station. We barely made it on time.

Christmas was wonderful. The flights, however, were not. I got stuck both ways. Coming back, the huge snowstorm left me standing in line to re-book my ticket in London Heathrow airport for 12 hours. Lovely time, eh?

Time to reveal the present I got for my brother:

a leather-bound journal complete with a fleur de lis, perfect for writing and drawing.

Leave your thoughts

